Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Assessment

The CPC Assessment will assess knowledge in the four core domains of nurse anesthesia practice. You will take a CPC Assessment (CPCA)  once every 8-year CPC Program period. Most CRNAs will take their first CPC Assessment either in the 2020-2024 or 2021-2025 CPC cycle, depending on your certification schedule.

The CPCA is a performance standard assessment, not a pass/fail exam. It assesses your knowledge in the four core areas of nurse anesthesia practice:
• Airway Management
• Applied Clinical Pharmacology
• Human Physiology and Pathophysiology
• Anesthesia Equipment, Technology, and Safety

It is closed book and you are given three hours to answer 150 questions.

CPCA Toolkit

Because the CPCA is not pass/fail, it does not impact your certification. It is designed to provide feedback on your strengths and weaknesses in different knowledge areas. Scores are measured against a defined performance standard to identify any areas where additional study is needed.

Flexible Testing Options
You choose where to take the CPCA, either online in your home or other preferred setting, or at a testing center. It can be taken any time in your second 4-year cycle (during application/testing windows).

The cost of the CPCA is $295 and it is taken once every eight years.


To assist nurse anesthetists in preparing for the CPC Assessment, the NBCRNA has developed a Practice assessment known as CPCA Practice. View the Practice Assessment page for more information.

For more information on the format and structure of the assessment view the Assessment Overview page.

For a list of frequently asked questions, view the FAQ page.