Nonsurgical Pain Management Examination

In response to challenges continually faced by many nurse anesthetists who practice nonsurgical pain management (NSPM), the NBCRNA developed a voluntary subspecialty certification for nurse anesthetists in Nonsurgical Pain Management (NSPM-C) in 2014. The NSPM credential program measures the knowledge, skills, and abilities of NBCRNA-certified registered nurse anesthetists for practice in the NSPM field. It requires advanced, subspecialty knowledge beyond that required for initial certification of nurse anesthetists.

Nurse anesthetists who are currently certified by the NBCRNA and meet other specified criteria are eligible to apply for NSPM certification. The NSPM exam is a four-hour, computer-based assessment, featuring 150 multiple-choice questions and three clinical-scenario items. It is typically offered twice per year at test centers in the U.S. This certification is time-limited and must be renewed.

Those who meet the criteria for the NSPM subspecialty certification and wish to pursue the certification can apply to take the exam during the window dates below.

Application Windows for NSPM Exam- 2019

If you are planning to take the NSPM Examination, contact NBCRNA at or (855) 285-4658 to have an application activated.

In 2019, the NBCRNA will offer the NSPM Examination on the following dates:

Applications for Exam AcceptedTest Dates
9/23/19 - 10/18/1911/25/19 - 12/9/19


Total Number of NSPM Certificants

Congratulations to the nine examinees who successfully completed the NSPM exam in June. The CRNA NSPM-Certified Lists posted on the right includes these June examinees. Since the inception of the NSPM program in 2015, 60 CRNAs hold the NSPM-C credential. There have been a total of 70 exam attempts. The overall pass rate is 85.5%. The next exam window opens September 23, 2019 —see above table. 


The NBCRNA’s Nonsurgical Pain Management (NSPM-C) credential program is accredited by both the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) and the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC). 

Call for NSPM Core Competency Module Development

The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) is soliciting the development and offering (hosting) of a new category of Core Competency Module that will be used by nurse anesthetists who seek to maintain their subspecialty certification in Nonsurgical Pain Management (NSPM-C). This offering will need to be prepared and ready for use by January 1, 2020.  Download the information packet for more information.