What are Class A Credits?

Class A credits are continuing education (CE) credits, and are a required component of our CPC Program and our MAC Program, known as MAC Ed. You earn them by participating in CE courses or activities that sharpen your skills and expand your knowledge—so you can keep delivering the quality patient care you take pride in.

60 Class A Credits Are Required per Four-Year Cycle.

Class A Credit Criteria

To count as Class A credits, CE activities must meet the following three criteria:

  1. Be prior approved by an accredited organization authorized to approve continuing education. (e.g. AANA, ANCC, ACCME)
  2. Include an assessment, such as self-assessment, polling, case studies, simulations, or post-tests.
  3. Be relevant to nurse anesthesia practice or the improvement of its delivery of anesthesia care to patients.

Any Class A credits you earn over the required minimum of 60 may be used to fulfill your Class B credit requirements. 

Class A Credit Examples

  • Online courses
  • Webinars
  • Workshops
  • Core Modules

Class A Providers

Class A providers must be prior approved by an accredited organization authorized to approved continuing education.


If you are an AANA member, your Class A credits will transfer into your credential renewal application once the application has been created.       

If you're not an AANA member, you will need to self-report Class A credits directly to the NBCRNA as a part of your credential renewal application process every four years. To learn more, read the CE documentation guidelines.