Promoting Patient Safety by Enhancing Provider Quality 

Congratulations on your recent certification as a nurse anesthetist. This page will give you insight into what your future looks like as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) with the NBCRNA. As a CRNA, you will be enrolled into the Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program. The CPC Program supports lifelong learning and the strong CRNA credential, protecting your ability to continue practicing as a CRNA, and is designed to meet the APRN regulatory requirements of every state Board of Nursing. 


NBCRNA Overview for Students and Program Administrators

CPC Program Components

There are four required components of the CPC Program: Class A credits, Class B credits, Core Modules, and the Continued Professional Certification Assessment (CPCA).

Class A credits are continuing education (CE) credits. You earn them by participating in CE courses or activities that sharpen your skills and increase your knowledge. Core Modules are a specialized type of Class A credit designed to help you stay current. They are focused on recently emerging information and evidence-based knowledge within the four domains: airway management, applied clinical pharmacology, human physiology, anesthesia equipment, technology, and safety.

Class B credits are the most flexible component of the CPC Program, as they include a wide range of professional activities, such as teaching, publishing, and research. Unlike Class A credits, Class B credits do not require prior approval and do not require an assessment.

The CPCA is a performance standard assessment that must be taken within the second four-year CPC cycle. It assesses your knowledge in the four core knowledge areas (domains) of nurse anesthesia practice.


CPC Program Requirements

Each four-year CPC cycle you will need to complete:

CPC Program requirements must be completed to renew your certification.

CPC Program FAQs

  • Q If I complete a CE activity that is not assessed, can I still apply it toward the CPC Program?

    CEs that have not been prior approved and/or are not assessed may be counted as Class B. CEs fitting this description such as hospital-required or state board of nursing-required CEs will qualify for Class B. Required/Recommended Audit Documentation and/or Information:

    • Program provider
    • Program name
    • Number of CEs or number of contact hours awarded
    • Certificate of attendance or completion
  • Q Do all assessed Continuing Education (CE) include a test?

    Yes, Continuing education (including Core Modules) that offers Class A credit must be tested or assessed. The assessment may be in the form of simulation demonstrations, case studies, or self-assessment, or testing. 
  • Q When do I need to renew my certification?

    Your CRNA credential is due for renewal by the end of your 4-year CPC cycle. Access to the CPC application portal opens 5 months prior to your application deadline. Reminders Notices will be sent via email and robocall prior to the portal opening, with monthly reminders through the renewal period.
  • Q Is the CPC Assessment another NCE and if not, what does it entail?

    The CPC Assessment (CPCA) is not the National Certification Exam (NCE) aka "the boards."  The CPCA will assess knowledge in the four core domains of nurse anesthesia practice which are:

    • Airway Management
    • Applied Clinical Pharmacology
    • Physiology and Pathophysiology
    • Anesthesia Equipment and Technology


Check Out Your Timeline

Log in to the NBCRNA portal any time to access your CPC timeline.

See My Timeline