• Q What is nonsurgical pain management (NSPM)?

    NSPM is the administration of neural or neuraxial blockade, physiological, pharmacological, and psychological techniques and modalities for the management of acute and chronic pain outside the obstetrical and operating room areas. (This may include the assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation of multimodal approaches in providing patient care.) 
  • Q What are the eligibility criteria for the NSPM credential?

    The eligibility criteria for the NSPM credential include: 
    • Current nurse anesthesia clinical practice
    • Completion of education activity that demonstrates knowledge in the following areas within the immediate prior 4 years from the date of application: physiology and pathophysiology of pain; imaging safety; assessment/diagnosis/integration/referral; pharmacological treatment; interventional pain strategies; and professional aspects.
    • Submission of a practice portfolio.
    • Successful completion of an assessed NSPM cadaver or assessed simulation course.
    Individuals who meet the eligibility criteria may sit for the NSPM certification examination. Successful completion of the NSPM subspecialty certification examination is required to obtain the NSPM credential and use the designation NSPM-C. 
  • Q When will applications for the NSPM credential be available?

    The NBCRNA expects that we will start accepting NSPM applications the beginning of 2015. More information will be available on the NBCRNA website in the coming months.
  • Q How much will the NSPM subspecialty credential cost?

    The NBCRNA is currently developing the NSPM certification examination. A total cost for this subspecialty credential has not been determined.
  • Q How will I find NSPM-specific continuing education (CE) offerings?

    The NBCRNA will request that CE vendors identify if their CE course(s) are NSPM focused as defined by the NBCRNA, and whether any of the CE activity content is specific to the six NSPM curricular content areas. 
  • Q What will the NSPM examination cover?

    The NSPM subspecialty examination will assess a nurse anesthetist’s competence of needle placement in three anatomical approaches (i.e., midline, lateral, peripheral) and four anatomical regions (i.e., cervical, thoracic, lumbar, and sacral), as well as assess knowledge related to the NSPM certification examination content outline. 
  • Q How long is the NSPM certification examination?

    The NSPM certification examination will consist of 150 scored multiple choice questions and 2-3 clinical scenario items. The total time allowed for the examination will be four hours or 240 minutes. The NSPM certification examination will not be computer adaptive.

    Clinical scenario items (CSIs) are test questions that use clinical scenarios to assess the decision making capabilities of the examinee. The examinee is presented with a base clinical patient scenario and multiple possible actions to manage the patient. Through the course of the examinee’s selections, additional information regarding the patient is provided. These CSIs add value to the examination experience by replicating a patient and nurse anesthetist’s interactions. 
  • Q When does the NSPM certification need to be renewed?

    The NBCRNA has developed continued NSPM subspecialty certification criteria and this information is posted on the NBCRNA website.

    If initial NSPM certification is obtained prior to the start of the CPC program on 1/1/2016, the initial NSPM certification will expire at the completion of the nurse anesthetist’s first full CPC cycle (i.e., 2020 or 2021).

    If initial NSPM certification is obtained after the start of the CPC program on 1/1/2016, the initial NSPM certification will expire at the completion of the nurse anesthetist’s current CPC cycle. Continued NSPM subspecialty certification is valid for four years and is in alignment with the nurse anesthetist’s individual CPC cycle.

    Continued NSPM subspecialty certification requires an individual to complete the NSPM examination every eight years in order to be compliant with the program. 
file-pdf file-word file-word file-excel file-excel
218 KB