How it Works

CPC Program Components

  1. Implementation. The starting date of the Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program will be January 1, 2016.
  2. Certification Period. The certification period will be 4 years.
  3. Continuing Education
    • The continuing education requirement will be 15 assessed CE units per year.
    • In addition, ten (10) professional activity units (developmental activities which do not require an assessment) will be required per year.
    • The assessed credits will require prior-approval, while the professional activities will be self-monitored by the certificant, but subject to audit by the NBCRNA.
  4. Competency Modules. The CPC Program will require four self study modules every four years on subjects addressing core competencies in anesthesia (airway management techniques, applied clinical pharmacology, applied physiology and pathophysiology, and anesthesia technology). Continuing education credit will be awarded when these modules are completed.
  5. Examination
    • An examination will be phased into the program over the next 20 years. Required at eight-year intervals, the first examination will be available beginning in 2020. During an anesthetist's first eight-year interval, the examination will be used for diagnostic and developmental purposes (a nurse anesthetist who does not meet the performance standard in any major content area will complete additional continuing education credits in that category).
    • By the year 2032, all nurse anesthetists will be required to meet a passing standard on the CPC examination at eight-year intervals. Four attempts to pass the test within a four year recertification cycle will be allowed.
  6. Work Requirement. In recognition of the role of local credentialing bodies, the NBCRNA will no longer monitor practice hours as a part of the CPC Program.
  7. Re-entry. Criteria for re-entry to practice following lapsed certification will be established at a later date.

​Four Core Competencies

  1. Airway Management Techniques. A nurse anesthetist has advanced knowledge and skill in basic, currently available, and commonly used alternative airway management techniques.
  2. Applied Clinical Pharmacology. As practitioners of applied clinical pharmacology, nurse anesthetists are knowledgeable about the actions, interactions, and adverse effects of anesthetics and adjuvants.
  3. Human Physiology and Pathophysiology. Nurse anesthetists are knowledgeable about human physiology and pathophysiology and their application to anesthesia practice.
  4. Anesthesia Technology. Nurse anesthetists have knowledge of the principles of technology operations and the ability to interpret and respond to data acquired from anesthesia equipment and instrumentation.