Accreditation and Recognition

NBCRNA certification and recertification programs are accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) -- a private not-for-profit organization. The NCCA is the accrediting branch of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE), which is the national standard setting organization for credentialing groups including certification boards, licensing boards and associations. The NBCRNA received its initial accreditation by the NCCA in June 1984 and our programs have been continuously accredited since 1980.​

The Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC) of the American Board of Nursing Specialties (ABNS), established in 1991, is a national peer review program for specialty nursing certification bodies. It promotes the highest quality of specialty nursing practice through the establishment of standards of professional specialty nursing certification. When the NBCRNA received its initial accreditation from the ABSNC in August 1992, it was one of the first national certification bodies to be recognized and approved by the ABSNC.

In 2012, the NCCA and ABSNC approved the reaccreditation of the NBCRNA certification and recertification programs through 2017. For more information about NCCA and ABSNC accreditation, visit their websites.

NCCA Accreditation Website
ABSNC Accreditation Website

NCCA_accreditedprogramlogo.jpg ABSNC Logo Black1.jpg


​ ​​​​