CPC Program/Recertification

2017 - 2021 Recertification

The 2017-2021 cycle is open as of March 1, 2017 
and applications to recertify are now available. Applications and all required materials must be submitted, reviewed, and approved by the deadline of July 31, 2017

To access your application for the 2017-2021 recertification cycle, log in to the NBCRNA website by clicking on the red "LOGIN" box at the top of this page, and then select "Recertify." 

Recertification Application Instructions
Recertification FAQs​
Instructions - CE Documentation for Recertification
2017_State_Licensure_Requirements_for_Recertification_STRIPPED_DOWN_FOR_WEBSITE.pdf2017 State Licensure Requirements for Recertification

For questions, email us at recertification@nbcrna.com or call (855) 285-4658.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ NOTE: Applications, and all required materials, must be submitted, reviewed, and approved by the deadline of July 31, 2017. To avoid any interruptions, please do not wait until July 31 to submit.

Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program

​​- The CPC Program went info effect on August 1, 2016 - 

​NEW: NBCRNA Evaluating Alternatives to the CPC Exam


February 15, 2017
Steve Wooden, DNP, CRNA, NSPM-C

 Statement: NBCRNA Reviewing Future
Alternatives to CPC Program Exam​​

(A joint AANA/NBCRNA statement on this topic was posted in the February 15, 2017 issue of Anesthesia E-ssential, the e-newsletter of the AANA.)

The Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program is based on 8-year periods comprised of two 4-year cycles and officially began on August 1, 2016. However, when the Program launched, more than 22,000 CRNAs had already recertified and had entered into the CPC Program, getting a head start on accumulating (Class A and Class B) credit​s. CRNAs newly certified in 2016 entered immediately into the CPC Program. CRNAs due to recertify by July 31, 2017 will recertify one last time, then enter into the CPC Program.​

The CPC Program, formerly “recertification,” focuses on lifelong learning and was developed in response to changing accreditation requirements, changing needs within the healthcare environment, the increasing role of CRNAs in the healthcare scene, as well as technology changes.

Watch the new CPC Class B videos!

The Program


The CPC Program consists of 8-year periods, and each period is comprised of two 4-year cycles. In addition to practice and license requirements, the program includes 4 main components:

  1.   Class A
  2.   Class B
  3.   Core Modules (see Providers)
  4.   Examination