CPC Program/Recertification

Credential verification for your SBON

Visit the SBON Credential Verification page to view the steps on how to obtain credential verification for your State Board of Nursing. The credential verification request must be made after receiving the recertification confirmation of approval email from the NBCRNA.

2017 - 2021 Recertification

The 2017-2021 recertification cycle closed on July 31, 2017. Those who successfully recertified have now entered the Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program. See below for more information. 

For questions, email us at recertification@nbcrna.com or call (855) 285-4658.

Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program

- The CPC Program went into effect on August 1, 2016 - 

NEW: NBCRNA Evaluating Alternatives to the CPC Exam


February 15, 2017
Steve Wooden, DNP, CRNA, NSPM-C

 Statement: NBCRNA Reviewing Future
Alternatives to CPC Program Exam

(A joint AANA/NBCRNA statement on this topic was posted in the February 15, 2017 issue of Anesthesia E-ssential, the e-newsletter of the AANA.)

The Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program is based on 8-year periods comprised of two 4-year cycles and officially began on August 1, 2016. However, when the Program launched, more than 22,000 CRNAs had already recertified and had entered into the CPC Program, getting a head start on accumulating (Class A and Class B) credit s. CRNAs newly certified in 2016 entered immediately into the CPC Program. CRNAs due to recertify by July 31, 2017 will recertify one last time, then enter into the CPC Program.

The CPC Program, formerly “recertification,” focuses on lifelong learning and was developed in response to changing accreditation requirements, changing needs within the healthcare environment, the increasing role of CRNAs in the healthcare scene, as well as technology changes.

Watch the new CPC Class B videos!

The Program

The CPC Program consists of 8-year periods, and each period is comprised of two 4-year cycles. In addition to practice and license requirements, the program includes 4 main components:

  1.   Class A
  2.   Class B
  3.   Core Modules (see Providers)
  4.   Examination